Rough Cut of my project

My central concept in this project is: What Has New Media Changed?

Has it changed us, or are we still the same people we always have been? 

As a result of this concept, I’ve started with a rough idea that’s pretty simplistic: show how media has grown, but the ideas and the people have not. Hence the shootout scenes, one from a Western and one from an Anime.

With that said, here’s the rough first ~27 seconds of the project. I’ll be editing the transitions along the way.

Footage and sounds used come from: Akira, Ghost in the Shell, The Good the Bad and The Ugly, and M.I.A.’s Paper Planes”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JYUdExCk1io&feature=youtu.be

And so I don’t seem like a psychopath, I don’t plan to have a full video of people shooting each other.

11 thoughts on “Rough Cut of my project

  1. What has new media changed, huh? I’m already digging where this is going – and, no, it’s not because I’m into horrific mow-down scenes (though I do LOVE Akira). That opening GitS quote works really well as setting up an “ideal” vibe – a promise of new media and enlightenment, hand-in-hand – and the juxtaposition with the The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly and Akira clips works well in showing something much more raw and “base.” It seems like you’ve got a strong direction with this and I want to see where it ends up.

  2. This is a great start! I’m glad to video won’t be ALL shooting! LOL! I am interested to see how the rest of the video shapes up! Cool! The only suggestion I would make is not staying on that first image as long as you did, but I’m sure that will change once you add the other half of the video! Great job thus far!

  3. I like that you focused your idea on one concept, which are the shooting scenes from the old west videos and the anime cartoon. From the few seconds of your video that I watched, the controlling idea seems to be consistent throughout the presentation. The music fits the concept fine. Every element is integrated well.

  4. “What has New Media changed?” I think that’s a really interesting question. I’m guessing, from what you’ve presented so far, that your thrust is gonna be to demonstrate that there is NOT anything “new” or “revolutionary” that has shown up so far, but that for the most part, the same motivations and behaviors of humans have persisted. Reminds me of my own notion about Robert Heinlein’s writing (or really, pretty much all good sci-fi, but I particularly say this about him): there’s a lot of strange new technology and whiz-bang stuff in the settings and environments he writes about, but the characters still have the same human drives and permanent questions and whatnot that humanity ALWAYS has had and always will. They’re just perhaps exhibited in new ways, to an extent… but not even too much of that, really.
    I’m interested to know where you go with this.

  5. From the beginning of the video I felt the concept, visuals, and audio synced up well (even down to a few gun shots,) which I thought was a good staple on what your concept represents. I immediately and throughout (thus far) have a sense of focus for your presentation, which is really cool.

  6. Really like the concept, and I really like how the shooting in the MIA song lines up with the shooting in the clips. I’m intrigued to see what will come of the next 30 seconds. Also curious to see where you go with this. I think you’ve narrowed your topic down enough to get a specific idea conveyed in a 1 minute video. Good job.

  7. I’m picking up what you’re putting down. I like the idea of exploring ways that, despite the rapidly changing world around us, we don’t really change all that much in many ways. It might even be interesting to take the concept farther back in time (maybe there’s some footage out there of things similar to the shoot out scenes with swords and arrows). Surely there’s some of that in Homer or something. Or not, I’m just sort of rambling now. Anyway, I like it, and look forward to seeing where this goes.

  8. I really like that you’re taking the idea of what New Media has changed, and I’m interested to see how you conclude this argument! Your current audio and video work really well together and I hope the rest holds to that same level. I think that Kevin’s idea of looking for stuff even older is a valid point as well, maybe you can give us a “timeline” of scenes like this from old to new.

  9. I like the contrast. We took Westerns, some of our early genres of film, next to cyberpunk contrasts and Akira’s gun fights, and it adds to the “then and now” feeling you’re going for. The text makes your point clear, so that’s good. Just add a bit more, and see if you can really tie it into a broader media base. Right now, it feels a bit like just how has television changed us. Perhaps something like the original Donkey Kong next to the N64 version with the “sexy” lady kong and them having guns. (That was a painful game.)

  10. Hi!
    The video you have made is very intriguing, especially the music. The music blends with the video, the beginning seems eye catching, and it seems like it is going to end up being a very well made video. The best part so far is that the music goes well with the video screen shots. With the end piece, I think it will all end up as a great work for the semester. You are on the right path for creating a great piece for the Concept in 60, and I think that it will all work together in the end.

  11. Pingback: Comment to Aaron | mollylynnkitty

Leave a Reply

